Lifelong learning

There’s so many things I want to do, the type of person I want to be.  All I have to do is remind myself of my New Year’s Resolutions less than a month ago:

  • Lose 30 pounds (diet, exercise, no caffeine)
  • Educate myself  (Coursera, reading, crafting)
  • Freer from debt

. . . and, it’s not yet February and have little to show for it.  I can say I haven’t had any caffeine, so there’s that.

But I do think I’m getting somewhere with the “educating myself” goal.  Right now, I’m involved in a class with David Loertscher about creating a virtual learning commons, an Advanced Power Searching class with Google, and next week I start a Coursera class in philosophy (just because) and a face-to-face class with my local AEA.

One I’m really excited about – and why you might be here (to read my intro) is an ed tech massive open online course – #etmooc.  I’ve before wondered why librarians don’t take the idea of MOOCs like Coursera for themselves.  We could have classes on what librarians need to know about RDA, how to repair books, or how to transition to the bookstore model.

So about me – it took me 21 years to graduate with my bachelor’s degree, and 18 months to get my master’s.  I don’t know if I am capitalizing and punctuating those words correctly, and that bothers me.  I start lots of projects and finish some.  I’m a K-12 librarian in a rural school district which is the best job in the world, and also have the “technology integrationist” moniker in my job description, so that’s why I’m here at #etmooc.

I think it’s important as a teacher librarian that my students and coworkers see me always trying to better myself.  Especially in a small district, we absolutely have to reach out to educate ourselves.  There’s a lot I’m doing well, but there are many ways I need to improve . . . but I am always trying to learn more.

What are you doing to keep learning?

thinker“Le Penseur.”  Retrieved online from the Library of Congress.

Leave a comment