It’s Monday! What are you reading?

reading

I talked about what we did in my school library for World Read Aloud Day, but didn’t mention what I read to the fifth and sixth graders:

 

sparrow

Sparrow Girl by Sara Pennypacker (yes, that Sara Pennypacker) is a remarkable picture book.  It’s a fictionalized account of Mao’s war on sparrows that eventually killed millions and millions of birds – and people.  I plan to use it this spring with a high school Biology class to discuss the inter-relatedness of things.

I finally finished the Stephen King book, 11/22/63.  It was remarkable – I’d always been afraid to read King, and then this was entirely NOT what I expected.

Then I started going shopping for books on my Kindle again (I never used to buy new books like I do now), and I see John Grisham has a new title.  I’m disappointed I didn’t see this right away; I always try to read his in the first few weeks of release.

racketeer

And I got an email from Amazon today about an ebook sale, so I bought two more books that I’ll start soon:
marathon

animals

I’ve read several books by Temple Grandin – you should too! – and well, spring is coming and I do, in fact, need to get off my butt and on with my training.  Ahem.

I’m looking for a current book on computer programming, and I cannot wait for this book to come out (June 11th).

And since I link to a children’s librarian blog above, I should state a children’s book I’ll begin reading this week, too:

ivan

(Yes, I know I’m a little behind . . . )

So what are you reading?

2 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. I just read Sy Montgomery’s biography of Temple Grandin: have you read it yet? Very good stuff! Definitely made me want to read something by Grandin herself. Also, a Sara Pennypacker book I don’t know! Yay! Off to spend more $….. SIGH.

Leave a Reply

